Contents
United States Post Office and Courthouse (Baltimore, Maryland)
The United States Post Office and Courthouse is a historic combined post office and Federal courthouse located in Baltimore, Maryland, United States.
Description
The building occupies an entire city block and measures 238 ft east-west by 279 ft north-south. It is of steel frame construction with concrete floors and tile roof, basement of granite, and outer walls of white Indiana limestone. The structure is six stories in height and provided with basement and two sub-basements. It was completed in 1932 under the supervision the Office of the Supervising Architect under James A. Wetmore, and features classical ornamentation.
Cases
Some notable court cases held in this building include:
Present
The U.S. Post Office and Courthouse was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. It has since been conveyed to the City of Baltimore, and is in use by the Baltimore city courts. For many years, the courthouse was known colloquially as Courthouse East. On January 17, 2020, Baltimore Mayor Bernard C. Jack Young announced that the courthouse would be renamed the Elijah E. Cummings Courthouse in honor of the late 12-term United States Representative and civil rights activist from Baltimore.
This article is derived from Wikipedia and licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. View the original article.
Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the
Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Bliptext is not
affiliated with or endorsed by Wikipedia or the
Wikimedia Foundation.