Quarré-les-Tombes

1

Quarré-les-Tombes is a commune in the Yonne department in Bourgogne-Franche-Comté in north-central France.

Population

Geography

The commune is located in the Morvan between the valleys of the Cure and Trinquelin. It is located on a granite hilltop of 450 meters altitude, which exposes the village to the northern winds and cold temperatures The commune is located at a crossroads of these routes: The commune has 37 hamlets.

Hamlets

Hamlets of archaeological or historical interest are:

History

In the seventh century, the village was named Quarreia, then was called Quarée until the eighteenth century. The current name of town comes from the large number of empty stone coffins ("tombes") in the graveyard surrounding the church. Quarré, formerly Careacum, belonged to Corbon, Lord of Corbigny, who bequeathed it to his son in 706 at the Abbey of Flavigny. In the eleventh century, the village was owned by the Sires de Chastellux, Counts of Quarré. The castle was built in 1863. The church has undergone several reconstructions including one in the fifteenth century. The chair and bench are carved in the style of Louis XIII.

This article is derived from Wikipedia and licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. View the original article.

Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Bliptext is not affiliated with or endorsed by Wikipedia or the Wikimedia Foundation.

View original