Contents
Prince William Parish, New Brunswick
Prince William is a geographic parish in York County, New Brunswick, Canada. Prior to the 2023 governance reform, for governance purposes it formed the local service district of the parish of Prince William, which was a member of Capital Region Service Commission (RSC11).
Origin of name
The parish is named in honour of Prince William, patron of the King's American Dragoons who settled the area.
History
Prince William was erected in 1786 as one of the county's original parishes. It extended as far inland as the rear line of Kingsclear Parish, which was twelve miles from the Saint John River, and well as any islands in front of it in the river. In 1833 the western part of Prince William was included in the newly erected Dumfries Parish. In 1847 four islands were transferred to Queensbury Parish. Little Coac, Big Coac, and Great Bear all appear on the cadastral map of the area; Bloodworth appears as Heustis Island, which was granted to N. Bloodworth. In 1855 an interior area was included in the newly erected Manners Sutton Parish. In 1895 the rear of Prince William was included in the newly erected McAdam Parish. In 1973 all reference to islands in the Saint John River was removed. The islands were flooded by the Mactaquac Dam.
Boundaries
Prince William Parish is bounded:
Communities
Communities at least partly within the parish.
Bodies of water
Bodies of water at least partly within the parish.
Islands
Islands at least partly within the parish.
Other notable places
Parks, historic sites, and other noteworthy places at least partly within the parish.
Demographics
Population
Population trend
Language
Mother tongue (2016)
This article is derived from Wikipedia and licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. View the original article.
Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the
Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Bliptext is not
affiliated with or endorsed by Wikipedia or the
Wikimedia Foundation.