Jubilee 150 Walkway

1

The ****Jubilee 150 Walkway, also variously known as the Jubilee 150 Commemorative Walk, the Jubilee 150 Walk, Jubilee 150 Plaques, the Jubilee Walk, or simply J150, is a series of (initially) 150 bronze plaques set into the pavement of North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia from King William Street to Pulteney Street.

History

Jubilee 150 Walkway (also known as the Jubilee 150 Commemorative Walk, Jubilee 150 Walk, Jubilee 150 Plaques, the Jubilee Walk, or simply J150, was officially opened on 21 December 1986. It was commissioned as part of the celebrations commemorating the 150th anniversary of the founding of the British Province of South Australia on 28 December 1836.

Overview

The plaques, which are placed between contain the names and deeds of (initially) 170 people who made major contributions to the founding and development of the former colony and later state of South Australia. Since 1986, the Adelaide City Council has added four plaques. Most plaques are arranged in alphabetic order, and stretch from King William Road to Pulteney Street along the north side of North Terrace. The walkway starts at the South African War Memorial, and passes in front of Government House, the National War Memorial, the State Library, the Museum, the Art Gallery and the University of Adelaide. This portion of North Terrace also contains more than a dozen statues, busts and other memorial plaques, plus numerous public seating benches, some drinking fountains and some water features in front of the Museum and Art Gallery. In 2011 the Adelaide City Council reorganised the area in front of Government House (between King William Road and the National War Memorial). The plaques and the major statues were not moved, but the avenue of gas lamps was removed, the various busts were moved from King William Road to an area between the statues of Venere Di Canova and Matthew Flinders, and a bust of Sir Lawrence Bragg was added to the group.

King William Street

The walkway starts near the corner of North Terrace and King William Street, in front of the front gates and gatehouse of Government House. The very corner is occupied by the South African War Memorial. Also on that corner, starting from the gatehouse and walking SE, were (prior to 2011) the busts of Sir Thomas John Mellis Napier, Mary Lee and Sir Mark Oliphant, all of whom have plaques on the walkway. These busts have been moved further east to the vicinity of the bust of Lord Florey, between the plaques for Kate Cocks and Sir Walter Crocker, and been replaced by the first six plaques of the walkway and seating.

Start of the Walkway

Plaques: Angas – Bagot

South African War Memorial

South African Boer War Memorial by A Jones 1904

Government House

This section of North Terrace in front of Government House has been named the Price Henry Gardens. Prior to 2011, running along the fence of Government House, there was an "Avenue of Gas Lamps". This has been replaced by a broader footpath.

Plaques: Bagshaw – Bonython

Statue of Dame Roma Mitchell

The Honourable Dame Roma Mitchell, modelled by Janette Moore, sculpted by John Woffinden and Sally Francis, unveiled 1 July 1999.

Plaques: Bradman – Cawthorne

Statue: Venere Di Canova

Statue of Venus (Venere di Canova) donated by W. A. Horn in 1892. Somewhat controversial at the time of its unveiling in 1892, this piece was the first of Adelaide's street statues. It is a copy in Carrara marble of the statue of Venus by Antonio Canovathe original is at the Pitti Palace in Florence. (Photo of the original.) – Pedestal of Sicilian and Kapunda marble. Executed by Fraser & Draysey. Presented by Mr W. A. Horn. Unveiled 3 September 1892, by His Worship the Mayor (F.W. Bullock, Esq.).

Plaques: Chapman – Cocks

Busts

Prior to 2011, the bust of Lord Florey stood alone in this portion of the Price Henry Gardens. The bust was completed by John Dowie in 1969, and unveiled by the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor (Robert E Porter, Esq.) on 25 June 1969.

Plaques: Crocker – Dickinson

Statue of Matthew Flinders

Captain Matthew Flinders by F. Brook Hitch, A.R.B.S. Pedestal of Murray Bridge red granite from Kirchel's quarry at Swanport. Paving of Tea Tree Gully freestone. Architect, A.E. Simpson, I.S.O., F.R.A.I.A. (Architect-in-Chief of subscription.) Unveiled 12 April 1934.

Plaques: Duguid – Gerrard

National War Memorial

National War Memorial – Great War – 1914–1918 by Woods, Bagot, Jory & Laybourne Smith; and Rayner Hoff, 1931.

Plaques: Gibb – Gill

Kintore Avenue

The Institute building

Plaques: Gosse – Hall

Statue of Edward VII

Huge bronze statue of Edward VII by Sir Bertram Mackennal, K.C.V.O., R.A. Pedestal designed by sculptor. Paid for by public subscription. Unveiled 15 July 1920.

Plaques: Hancock – Hartley

State Library of South Australia

The statue of Robert Burns bears the honour of being the first statue carved in Adelaide. It was presented by the Caledonian Society, and unveiled on 5 May 1894 by the Chief of the Caledonian Society (Hon. J. Darling, M.L.C.).

Plaques: Hassell – Hill-Ling

Mortlock Library

Plaques: Holden – Jolly

Museum of Natural History

Plaques: Kavel – Mitchell

Art Gallery of South Australia

Plaques: Mitchell – Oliphant

University of Adelaide

Mitchell Building

Plaques: Playford – Short

Elder Conservatorium of Music

Plaques: Simpson – Stow

Bonython Hall

Plaques: Strange – Todd

Napier Building

Plaques: Tolmer – Wright

Ligertwood Building

Last Plaque

References and notes

This article is derived from Wikipedia and licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. View the original article.

Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Bliptext is not affiliated with or endorsed by Wikipedia or the Wikimedia Foundation.

View original