Douglas Head

1

Douglas Head (Manx: Kione Ghoolish) is a rocky point on the Isle of Man overlooking Douglas Bay and harbour. Views extend to include Snaefell Mountain and Laxey.

General

Until 1870, the headland was owned by The Nunnery Estate when Sir John Goldie-Taubman gave part of it to 'the people of Douglas' by donating it to Douglas Town Council. The headland was a popular area during the Victorian tourism period with access available via South Quay or by using the three steam ferries of Douglas Harbour Ferry Service.

Current facilities

Historic facilities

Memorials

Douglas Head is home to three memorials:

Trivia

This article is derived from Wikipedia and licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0. View the original article.

Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Bliptext is not affiliated with or endorsed by Wikipedia or the Wikimedia Foundation.

Edit article